Tags

, ,

Get a 30-second glimpse of New Kids On The Block’s New Orleans show: video

By Doug MacCash, NOLA.com | The Times-Picayune
Follow on Twitter
on May 22, 2017 at 9:53 AM, updated May 22, 2017 at 10:56 AM

 

NKOTB were the kings of the Smoothie King Center Friday (May 19). In case you missed the beyond-seductive show, we were invited to video some of the first song. So check it out.

Also dig the comments that have accrued under the gorgeously written, compelling yet comical, insightful, perceptive, empathetic NOLA.com review (by me).

New Kids On The Block woo a womanly crowd in New Orleans

New Kids On The Block woo a womanly crowd in New Orleans

All five members of the perennial “boy” band remain toned and talented in middle age.

beachgirl had this perspective:

“I’ve been to many NKOTB concerts and each one is better than the last…And it does bring us 40-year-olds back to our early teen years and allows us to forget that we aren’t in our youth any longer! We screamed, squealed, sang, and screamed some more until the lights came on! Great show!”

As Dawn M wrote (in a hoarse whisper):

“I have been to 7 concerts (1990, 1991, 2008, and 2013 in Houston and Dallas), 2015, and now 2017 … I have been on 2 cruises (2014 and 2016). It never gets old. Here we are the next day and I can’t talk from all the screaming I did. I will be there every tour for as long as they decide to put on a show. It was an amazing show, so glad they changed up some of the song selections but I also did miss some songs that were cut. For one night I am able to leave all my worries and concerns behind and not be 41 years old. I can holler for my favorite New Kid and dance in the aisles with my friends to our favorite songs.”

zoomcandy concurred:

“I thought it was an amazing show, but I’ve been a blockhead (that’s what NKOTB fans are called) since the 80’s. Their shows make me feel like a teenager again & forget that I am a 40-year-old with responsibilities – for just a few hours. I screamed, squealed, & danced like a 15-year-old for 4 wonderful hours and I will do it again for 4 days in October when I cruise with NKOTB.

Flippy seemed to be the only dissenter:

“Would’ve been a great venue for ‘woman watching;’ however, you would’ve been stuck listening to really bad music…”

Flippy, I can’t be sure of this, but you may have just been flipped off by NKOTB fans everywhere.

Lisa wrote:

“If all men aged like these guys the world would be a much more beautiful place, lol. Give me a 48-year-old Jordan Knight over a 20-something Harry Styles any day!”

I can tell you Lisa, remaining gorgeous as one ages isn’t easy. It can’t be taken for granted.

http://www.nola.com/music/index.ssf/2017/05/new_kids_on_the_block_new_orle_2.html

